Welcome to the Hatteras Owners Forum & Gallery. Sign Up or Login

Enter partial or full part description to search the Hatteras/Cabo parts catalog (for example: breaker or gauge)
+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Marine A/C Cleaning Procedure

I know this has been discussed before. I'm just having a hard time finding the information.

I have 5 split system cruiseair units. Coming off the single water pump, I have a hose connected to a pvc manifold with offtakes for each compressor. At the end of the manifold, there is a single hose that directs the water overboard. I believe I may have to replace a few of the hoses. Currently, most of them are the nylon reinforced clear hose (5/8"). They are no longer clear as you can see a bunch of "crud" in them.

How do you flush the whole system if there are no valves to allow/stop flow of water to each unit? How do you get the chemical to flow through all units? What chemical should I use as I have never done this before and am a little hesitant to use muriatic acid? I understand the whole idea of using a small bilge pump and tap into the manifold input and have another hose return the acid via an additional hose back to the bucket. Also, are there any recommendations on 110 volt pumps since I'm running a 32 volt system and I'm sure a single 12 volt battery wouldn't last for hours without charging from a power source.

Any help would be appreciated.
    Larry Kaplan
    Former Owner of
    1980 60' Sportfish

Re: Marine A/C Cleaning Procedure

For preventive maint I cleaned mine two years ago with 1 part muriatic and 3 parts water using a small bilge pump/bucket, connecting it to each units' in/out in turn. The copper tubing looked brand new/shiny afterward but there was no difference that I could tell in performance. I suppose they could eventually be gunked up enough to matter but to my knowledge, mine had never been cleaned previously.