Welcome to the Hatteras Owners Forum & Gallery. Sign Up or Login

Enter partial or full part description to search the Hatteras/Cabo parts catalog (for example: breaker or gauge)
+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast

Thread: Solo Cruising

Solo Cruising

I don't have friends or family that have time to cruise with me other than long weekends, so I've given thought to cruising the FL Keys and Bahamas by myself. I currently have a 1985 32' Hatteras flybridge sport fisherman that I put new Yanmars and electronics in last year, so she's in great shape and easy for me to handle. She does have an autopilot which is interfaced to the chart plotter, plus I have radar. If I got serious about cruising by myself, I might consider doing it with a different boat, however, my 32 would do just fine.

I hesitate to mention this, but I am 70 years old, but in very good physical and mental condition and I have over 35 years of boating and cruising experience. I've lived in FL for 30 years and have cruised to the upper Keys and several trips to Bimini and Lucaya.

I would like to know what your thoughts are about this and if any of you have experience cruising alone.

Thanks for you feedback,
    Karl

Red face Re: Solo Cruising

Karl, no matter how great of shape you are in, or how capable you are, I would strongly recommend againist cruising alone. Too damn much potential for unforeseen trouble, either mechanical, medical, accidental, etc. It is foolish to risk it alone. No matter how careful, how well prepared, or how cautious you may be - too many things (beyond your control) can happen to people. Flying airplanes and off-shore voyaging are just too unforgiving to place yourself in such a position. I know it is tempting but please do not fall victim to your emotions.

Bear'
    1984 61' MY Strategic Plan

Re: Solo Cruising

GO FOR IT !!!!

there are many things / situations that are more "Dangerous" than using your boat alone especially in sheltered waters like the keys !