Welcome to the Hatteras Owners Forum & Gallery. Sign Up or Login

Enter partial or full part description to search the Hatteras/Cabo parts catalog (for example: breaker or gauge)
+ Reply to Thread

70C and 16V2000 HELP!

Just found this site and it sounds like there are some very knowledgeable people on here. I have looked through this site and boatdiesel, but I havent been able to find much info on the 16V's. I need some help on pro's and cons of a 2000 70C with 16V2000's. I am new to the larger boat world and it just seems like there are so many choices out there. Anything I should be on the lookout for?? Do these motors have a good track record?? Like others on this site I am also on the Westcoast and most of my fishing will be long range stuff into Mexico. Some day stuff, but mostly using the boat for a couple weeks at a time. Any idea of the lifespan of these motors if not throttled hard and well taken care of? What about there maint. schedule? Any insight on the motors, hull, ride, or resale value of this boat would be greatly appreciated! Thanks, great site!
    Last edited by 1crazy1; 05-23-2007 at 05:46 PM.

Re: 70C and 16V2000 HELP!

Congrats on your new boat. That is an awesome model. Unfortunately, I don't know much about those engines.

I have much smaller Detroit's. While I use Valley Detroit Diesel for my parts (their parts guys have always been good to me) I don't use their service. I've heard good and bad about them.

Hope someone with specific knowledge about those engines can help....

But again congrats!

Thanks Hattitude! I havent pulled the trigger yet, but I am very close. I am just attempting to get a little more info on the 16V's and that year and model. Where do you keep and use yours? How do you like it?

I'm out of Mission Bay in San Diego. I dive, cruise channel islands and mostly do one to two day tuna trips into Mexican waters.