Welcome to the Hatteras Owners Forum & Gallery. Sign Up or Login

Enter partial or full part description to search the Hatteras/Cabo parts catalog (for example: breaker or gauge)
+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Thread: 60' Battlewagon

60' Battlewagon

I have a doctor nephew that is looking at a 1978 60' Hatteras convertable. They all seem to have 650 hp 12-71 Detroits. Does anyone have any thoughts good or bad about these monsters? The prices sure vary. Are the engines tough or hand grenades?

2. Re: 60' Battlewagon

I too have looked at boats with the same powerplants. I'm no expert, but from what I've been told, this package is fairly reliable and at the mid-range of the horsepower rating available. Average life expectancy is about 2,000 hours based on info I received.
    1974 58TC "Freebird", 1965 41DC "Nancy Cay", For Sale - Click HERE for info - sosectn@aol.com
    Randy Register - Kingston, Tennessee - aka Freeebird aka Sparky1
    www.forumlychallengedboaters.com

Re: 60' Battlewagon

One of the best models Detroit made. At that horsepower very reliable.

Based on Karl's previous posts, I would say that they ought to be reliable at that rating. And slow. If he doesn't mind that, he should be good to go.

5. Re: 60' Battlewagon