Welcome to the Hatteras Owners Forum & Gallery. Sign Up or Login

Enter partial or full part description to search the Hatteras/Cabo parts catalog (for example: breaker or gauge)
+ Reply to Thread
  1. Is there a DVD on diesel maintenance?

OK, I admit it, I am NOT a mechanic. I have replaced the water impellers on the mains and genset. Have also replaced belts,done oil changes and radiator fluids replaced my oil filters and fuel filters (remember my thread about breaking my ribs back in March).
    The junior college here FOR YEARS had a basic diesel course but of course when I went to sign up for it, it had been discontinued.
    Called Detroit Diesel here in Florida and they do have a 3 day course, which will cost me a fair amount, plus motel and food and travel. Plan on doing it sometime "within a year" or so.
    But went to Google and tried to see if there were any DVDs that I could buy as I have no idea what to do if an injector went bad...... Heat exchangers? See questions asked all the time about them........
    Manuals are nice but if I could see something on a tape, it sure would be easier to follow.
    Charlie Freeman
    "No Dial Tone"
    1973 43' DCMY
    Fernandina Beach, Fl
    www.yachtmoves.com

2. Re: Is there a DVD on diesel maintenance?

Check out this manual, it is a good start to trouble shooting, while it is written for trucks, the diesel basics are the same. You have to start somewhere. Marinized engines just have extra stuff. There are no "Marine Diesels for Dummies" books out yet. http://www.themotorbookstore.com/medutrdiencl.html

and

http://www.themotorbookstore.com/marineengines.html
    Last edited by Boss Lady; 08-22-2006 at 09:51 PM. Reason: add
    Chris
    1973 48' Yachtfish
    "Boss Lady" my other expensive girlfriend.
    Follow the refurb at www.starcarpentry.com

Re: Is there a DVD on diesel maintenance?