Welcome to the Hatteras Owners Forum & Gallery. Sign Up or Login

Enter partial or full part description to search the Hatteras/Cabo parts catalog (for example: breaker or gauge)
+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

new electronics set up help please.

hello all
    i just bought a 1970 45c with no electronics so im starting fresh.
    cost is a concern as is basic instal. boat currently in the water and not planning to pull it till next fall. its powered by updated 8v71ti
    ease of use also important as im not very experienced with electronics. im thinking i need. depth finder. radar and charts and gps.
    any recomendations are greatly appreciated

Re: new electronics set up help please.

Garmin.
    Eric
    41TC 1966 Hull #53 "Requisite"
    Kent Island, MD/Ft. Lauderdale, FL

"Though she creaks - She holds"

Garmin indeed for ease of use.

You can get by till haul out using a shoot thru hull xducer.

What you need really depends on how you use the boat. Here in sofl for instance, you may not need a radar for just day trips.
    Pascal
    Miami, FL
    1970 53 MY #325 Cummins 6CTAs
    2014 26' gaff rigged sloop
    2007 Sandbarhopper 13
    12' Westphal Cat boat

Another vote for Garmin as is easy to set up and use. They also seem to support older stuff for longer with the availability of cables, etc. In fact I have never bought new electronics. I always get the 3-4 year old "outdated" stuff for half the cost of new ones from those who must have the latest greatest.

thank you all for the advice.