Welcome to the Hatteras Owners Forum & Gallery. Sign Up or Login

Enter partial or full part description to search the Hatteras/Cabo parts catalog (for example: breaker or gauge)
+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast

What size tender? (inflatable)

I'm looking at the Takacat dinghys and they of course have sizes in the 8-12 ft. long range.
    I have no experience with dinghy's like this.

Would any one be able to give me a suggestion as to what size?
    I was thinking the LX340 model that is 11'2" long but that's just a guess as to what would be best.

Any input appreciated!

Edit: we are planning on keeping it on the swim platform for easy/quick access.
    Last edited by Bob Quinn; 05-17-2022 at 05:53 PM.
    1980 53' Hatteras MY, Hull # 592

"Moon River" <-- Finally picked a name

Re: What size tender? (inflatable)

I have a 11'6 zodiac, fits with no overhang at all.
    GLORY Hull # 365
    Northport, NY

Standing by for information, I am currently looking for one as well.

12’ or even 13 will fit. 11 is a bit small and cramped.

Having used both hydraulic swim platforms and a Davit on the top deck on a number of boats over the years, there is no difference in ease of launching and retrieving. If anything when raising to the top deck you don’t have to deal with a bucking bronco if the water gets choppy.

I like the peace of mind of having the tender away from waves and following seas. Downside is that adding weight up top means a little more rolling but lifting the tender is very easy
    Pascal
    Miami, FL
    1970 53 MY #325 Cummins 6CTAs
    2014 26' gaff rigged sloop
    2007 Sandbarhopper 13
    12' Westphal Cat boat

As from someone who has bought several tenders over the years to get the right one, go as big as you can to fit properly and max on the allowable outboard HP.
    Best regards,
    --
    David

Also, I recommend easily removable chocks. This way you can utilize the space when the tender is off the boat.
    Best regards,
    --