Welcome to the Hatteras Owners Forum & Gallery. Sign Up or Login

Enter partial or full part description to search the Hatteras/Cabo parts catalog (for example: breaker or gauge)
+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Smile Still looking for my Hatteras

Still searching for a Hatteras. Given I am a newbie , retired and just turned 68 looking at a1987 54' MY listed in boat trader for 169K, which looks like it is a cockpit model. Although I like the classic 53' Hatteras MY wondering if the cockpit model is better suited for me given it has no ladders to climb. Would love any feedback and input in terms of the ER accessibility , performance issues ( in some threads mentioned about some difficulty in tight spaces). Are stabilizers/and or bow thrusters a good option to look for. Appreciate your expert input.
    Thanks
    If you have any knowledge of the boat can PM me as well.

Re: Still looking for my Hatteras

That looks like a regular 54MY does not have a cockpit. If you are going to do any running in the ocean or on the Great Lakes the. Stabilizers are really important to have.
    Mahalo V
    1974 53 Motoryacht
    Hull Number 406
    San Diego, Ca. Ready 32 Nordic Tug, Brunswick Ga.

Not an expert but it looks like it has 8v92's with 3,000 plus hours. I have been told these motors are more hopped up than some of the other models and don't last much beyond those hours. But at the same time I have been told it all depends on how they were cared for. In other words getting them checked out would be very important.
    1980 53' Hatteras MY, Hull # 592

"Moon River" <-- Finally picked a name

The jury is somewhat out on DD 92s- they seem more sensitive to overheating than 71 series DDs. I think most agree that with old diesels of any brand, a thorough engine survey is absolutely essential. Maintenance and service/overhaul records are also very useful.