Welcome to the Hatteras Owners Forum & Gallery. Sign Up or Login

Enter partial or full part description to search the Hatteras/Cabo parts catalog (for example: breaker or gauge)
+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 4 1 2 3 ... LastLast

Advice: Boatyard problem

I have been working on my boat a 1980 50c for the past four years... total restoration. I am only
    one man with limited resource$ so it has been a slow process. Add to this the Covid hysteria and
    supplies just not being obtainable and this process is entering extra innings. When I first hauled
    the boat the yard owner allowed me to construct a shed (22x64) I am at the final paint stage. the hull.
    The topsides are complete and ready to be covered to shoot the hull. We (wife & I) stopped in the
    yard office to pay our winter bill and are excited about finally finishing our project. PROBLEM the yard
    told me in no uncertain terms my time is up and he wants the shed down in 30 days... basically the end
    of the month. No written notice just out of left field, gut check time, now what do I do?
    I still need the shed to paint up in the northeast and to protect any other boats from
    overspray. Also the final touches to be finished this winter as the shed is heated, air compressor etc.
    Now on a holiday weekend starts the scramble to try to find inside storage for a freshly painted boat
    as shrinkwrap is not an option. No hardware has been reinstalled yet so if the boat is uncovered all
    the work over the past 4 years will go to shit. What I am looking at is launch vessel, relocate to another
    yard, rebuild a new shed structure, re winterize the mains etc. I offered what I considered an obscene
    amount to let me finish the boat for a spring launch and was told I'm tired of looking at the shed, times up,
    your problem is not my problem. Is there anything legal I can do to stay? I'm sure it will be more than