Welcome to the Hatteras Owners Forum & Gallery. Sign Up or Login

Enter partial or full part description to search the Hatteras/Cabo parts catalog (for example: breaker or gauge)
+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast

Big Decision Time

OK, this is going to take a while. I've been running Ambrosia Mae, a '79 43C, since I bought her in 2003. She has 6v92TA engines making 435hp.

When I bought her they had about 850 hrs on them; now around 4000. I seem to be spending more and more time in the ER lately. The port engine has been pretty much bullet proof - the stbd not so much. It eats injectors like Fritos, it seems. Usually 1 or 2 per season over the past 5 or years. Both engines leak like, well like Detroit Diesels. Performance has declined over the past few years as well. Right now I can't seem to get her over 2150rpm. It should hit 2350. I went through the full tune up process on both engines over the past 2 days. A total of 1 injector needed to have the rack adjusted slightly. 3 exhaust valves needed the clearance tweaked. Injector timing was fine across the board. All 4 turbos seem to be spooling properly. Fuel filters are fresh and the Airseps are clean. The stbd aftercooler was last cleaned in '18, the port in '14. It's probably due. Both engines light off virtually instantly this time of year with zero smoke. In cold weather it takes 2 or 3 attempts before they start, and they smoke for 15 – 20 seconds.

I cruise a little with her - mostly fish. I love the offshore scene. Fully loaded heading offshore, I carry 490 gal of diesel in the tanks, 300 more in a bladder on the bow, 165 gal of water, and around 2500# of ice, plus 6 big guys and enough food and drink for an army. I'm lucky to make 15kts heading out heavy, and 16 to 17 heading in after burning off a bunch of fuel. Fully loaded, she probably weighs in north of 48,000 #. On my last trip, we burned approx 710 out of 790 gallons at a rate of 44gph.