Welcome to the Hatteras Owners Forum & Gallery. Sign Up or Login

Enter partial or full part description to search the Hatteras/Cabo parts catalog (for example: breaker or gauge)
+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast

Freshwater level indicator

I'm a rookie but learning fast. The fill level indicator gauge above my counter top doesn't move. Original 1986 gauge. Went below to the water tank and a one of the 2 wires from the 'sender' was broken. Removed the 2 screws holding it to the brass/bronze cap.... thinking I'd extract some sort of a 'float' devise.... but no just the plastic disc with level indicators and a 'magnet' on the underside ?? After repairing the broken lead, and completely filling the tank the salon gauge still registered 1/4. I plan to replace this sender but have no idea how it works, should it be upgraded to something else any ideas and or technical education will be appreciated.

Re: Freshwater level indicator

You probably need a new Rochester gauge. Sams has them. You will need to remove it from the tank and replace it. Its possible you could take it out and clean it but after 34 years it probably has corroded enough that a replacement is in order.
    Looking for a 80 plus foot yacht
    Hatteras of Cheoy Lee

I was also perplexed by the "fake" gauge on top of the water tank. The float must rise and fall on a spiral rod that makes 3/4 of a turn, and it must have a magnet that drives the gauge. Mine also does not work. I haven't decided if I will replace it with what came with it (from Sams) or with something electronic.
    Prometheus
    1978 53' MY Hull #529
    Viera, FL

Clean it. You might start liking it. Or in my case, tap it for a reading.
    Semper Siesta
    Robert Clarkson
    ASLAN, 1983 55C #343
    Charleston, SC

Quote Originally Posted by racclarkson@gmail.com View Post
    Clean it. You might start liking it. Or in my case, tap it for a reading.
    Easy to clean. Just be careful not to bend any of the rods.
    SEVEN