Welcome to the Hatteras Owners Forum & Gallery. Sign Up or Login

Enter partial or full part description to search the Hatteras/Cabo parts catalog (for example: breaker or gauge)
+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 4 1 2 3 ... LastLast

Securing New Float Switch in Bilge

(I am new at this.)

Need to figure out how to secure a new float switch in the bilge.

Old switch died and when I went to remove it, the bracket came out with the switch.

Now I need to find a way to secure the new switch so that it stays where it should be instead of floating around in what it is supposed to be sensing.

The switch I have in the system is a new Rule Super Switch. (I have now seen here on the forum that there are folks who no longer trust these switches!)

I have tried to attach the switch to the Rule 2000 pump with the little bracket that came with a new Rule 2000 pump I installed in another location but couldn't manage to get the bracket to clip to the (already installed) pump in the bilge.

As there is really no place for the switch to wander off to, I am thinking that if I could attach it to something heavy enough to keep the switch sitting right side up on the floor of the bilge, that would be all I need.

Any suggestions for methods or materials? I believe the bracket for the switch I removed had been poorly glued to the floor of the bilge. Is there something I could use to attach the bracket to the hull even though there is some residual water and whatever covering that area?

Thanks,
    Nick
    (1984 53' Extended Deckhouse)

Re: Securing New Float Switch in Bilge

Can you use an underwater curing epoxy to mount a wood or starboard block and then screw the switch to that?
    John Novotny
    1979 53 MY "Serenity" #567
    Baltimore, MD

Couple of years ago I replaced all my bilge pump, switches, wiring etc and mounted everything on L shape brackets made with starboard which can be screwed to a stringer or bulkhead

I ve also seen in done with welded alum or SS brackets