Welcome to the Hatteras Owners Forum & Gallery. Sign Up or Login

Enter partial or full part description to search the Hatteras/Cabo parts catalog (for example: breaker or gauge)
+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Incoming 50 AMP Help

Hello,

Though I have been using the forum for close to two years, this is my first post so I hope I get this right.

We have a 1981 61 MY with dual dockside connections on both the port and starboard side of the pilot house. This week, we had the alarm go off meaning we lost power (which would most normally be a blown fuse on the boat side or a tripped breaker on the dock. Unlike every other time, both the breaker and fuses are just fine. The cord and the panel show power - but I cannot get that power to any of the three services below. (Forcing us to run on 1 cord).

The electrician has been out twice, but nothing solved. He has found we can run 1 line of each side, but not two on both. That can work ok at home (barely), but on the road we likely will have trouble reaching both sides regularly.

I do not know of any breakers between the incoming panel and the main electric panel. I haven;t found the wiring diagrams, but will be looking this weekend. Any tips?

Thanks so much,

Patrick

1981 61 Hatteras MY
    Hattrick
    Dunedin, FL
    727-460-5772
    Patrick Donoghue
    1981 61MY "Hattrick"
    Dunedin, FL

Re: Incoming 50 AMP Help

Is this what your panel looks like? Plug both cords into one side. Shore line selectors should both be switched to 1 or 3. Does the top meter read 230v on both panels when switch is set to “shore”? If yes is transformer breaker tripped? Does it feel like it is working properly? Are the source 1 and 2 shore line breakers on and feel like they are working? Check to make sure there are no fuses or breakers in the genny room near the transformers.
    Attached Images
    Thanks,

Tony

2008 Cheoy Lee Bravo 78 "Bella Sophia"
    1989 78' Hatteras CPMY #311 "Bella Sophia" (sold)