Welcome to the Hatteras Owners Forum & Gallery. Sign Up or Login

Enter partial or full part description to search the Hatteras/Cabo parts catalog (for example: breaker or gauge)
+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Preferred battery for inverter.

I have a mastervolt sine wave 12/1000. The current setup is running off my house bank, 2= 8ds. I would like to use separate bank just for inverter. Any thoughts on type and brand. I only use it to run fridge at night after generator shutdown and a few lights or tv. Also I just installed a new mastervolt 50 amp 3 bank charger. Is running charger to inverter battery the right way to set up. Looking for best battery setup to extent running time.
    Thank you

Re: Preferred battery for inverter.

Why have two deep cycle banks? Better to have one large bank. 6 volt golf cart batteries are the best bang for the buck.
    1977 Hatteras 58' MY, Hull No. 304, 4-stateroom galley up model with 8V71TIs in Knoxville, Tennessee

I prefer having a dedicated inverter bank for redundancy as this keeps the house bank for crtitical thIngs like bilge pumps and lights. Even if you manage the single bank, when the boat is unattended at the dock a power outage or tripped dock breaker woudl leave you with a dead house bank an no bilge pumps.

As to batteries, golf cart batteries are true deep cycle and work great for house and inverters. They are also much easier to handle and install than 4D or 8D

If your inverter has a charging mode i d use that to charge the inverter bank, usually inverters charge at a faster rate than chargers
    Pascal
    Miami, FL
    1970 53 MY #325 Cummins 6CTAs
    2014 26' gaff rigged sloop
    2007 Sandbarhopper 13
    12' Westphal Cat boat

Inverter chargers are best for your application. Add in the shunt and monitor and you have a system that is managing the batteries.