Welcome to the Hatteras Owners Forum & Gallery. Sign Up or Login

Enter partial or full part description to search the Hatteras/Cabo parts catalog (for example: breaker or gauge)
+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Single Side Band transcever

This is probably a question for Scott, but I respect all opinions. I was Given a SEA 222 SSB radio today. A friend stated if I was going to start cruising the Bahamas, I should have one. First, is this a good radio, and is it recommended to have one. I have more than enough room, and because of being a retired pilot, I have an FCC radio liscense.So, what do you think?Tim

Re: Single Side Band transcever

I installed a remote antenna system for a sat phone recently that I believe would do more than the SSB for a whole lot less power or trouble. It also has the option of adding a modem and is current technology.

Other than the monthly cost for the service I believe it's a better tool to have in the Bahamas.

SSB is not dead but the cost of installing it and the antenna tuner (required) with a good counterpoise is pretty steep if the copper strapping is not already there.
    Scott
    41C117 "Hattatude"
    Port Canaveral Florida.

Marine Electronics and Electrical Products Distributor.

The old SEA units were good. I have one installed on my boat, and used one extensively while working in AK. Did you get the coupler/tuner with it? Sat comms are great, but if people that are looking for you don’t have a sat phone on their boat, they are not much good. Also just like VHF a SSB can be heard by others, not just the recipient, and direction finding equipment can be used. So more help may be available.May want to check, but a radio station licence and MROP (Marine Radio Operators Permit) May be needed.

Quote Originally Posted by Boatsb View Post