Welcome to the Hatteras Owners Forum & Gallery. Sign Up or Login

Enter partial or full part description to search the Hatteras/Cabo parts catalog (for example: breaker or gauge)
+ Reply to Thread

Thread: Inverter

dshuman Guest

Inverter

I bought a good used Heart inverter (HF32-1200X) from a posting on this site (thanks Mike, if you're reading this) and I'm installing it on my 1978 53MY. I called Heart (now Xantrax), I studied my 53MY blueprint schematics and talked to a knowlegeable friend and I'd appreciate any advice or cautions. Here's the plan:

Don't use the inverter as a charger (the boat's charger charges the batteries). That means I won't connect the A/C input line in the back of the inverter.

Connect the inverter to the house battery bank (32v 660AH).

Connect 110v A/C output from the inverter to the two starboard 110v shore power input lines in place of the actual shore power input sockets on the gunnel. I'm going to use the 110v shore power input panel in the s/b engine room to do this.

Then, the main electric panel selector switches will power the two 110v circuits on the boat from the inverter if I set the 110v selectors to "s/b shore".

Has anybody else used this kind of hookup?

Dick Guest
    I'm not familiar w/this model. How big is it, and what's the size of the charger? The AC and DC output sorta determines how you might want to wire it. I.e., if it's small, you might just want to use it to power one receptacle. If larger, maybe you'd wire it to several breakers. Either way, you probably wouldn't wire it to the whole boat.

Dick

Elixirtoo Guest
    Generally people power only essential items with the inverter (unless youve got an 8kw inverter). You could take the inverter ouput straight to selected circuit breakers on a sub panel (refer,freezer etc)and supply the power for the inverter from the original CB supply. When the inverter senses no AC input it will switch to the house bank and invert.

dshuman Guest

inverter