Welcome to the Hatteras Owners Forum & Gallery. Sign Up or Login

Enter partial or full part description to search the Hatteras/Cabo parts catalog (for example: breaker or gauge)
+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 9 1 2 3 ... LastLast

Newbie looking for 52-58 MY

Gentlemen,
    I have read a great many of the knowledgeable posts and have learned quite a lot. Thank you for investing in the forum. My plans are to purchase and gradually (4 yrs) move full time on a boat. Quality of construction and seaworthyness lead me to Hatteras.

I have no prior boating experience, but hey, everyone starts somewhere.

I would like to request your guidance.

One question I have regards insurance. With no prior experience, what must I do to have a chance at being underwritten? I understand coverage is required for slip rental.

Question 2: it looks like their is about a 100k spread between an updated boat and one where maintenance has been deferred. Whereas engine life on the dd''s appears to vary so greatly, in your opinion is it better to buy a run out set, drop the 60k and start with fresh motors?

Question 3: practicality of a stand up engine room vs the 52MY. I AM 6'4" and not a light weight. The thought of cramming myself into a 4' space to service the engines cause's me to break out into a cold sweat. So I thought the 53'-58' would provide at least head room. Okay, here''s the question - since the 52 has plenty of living space, would it be better to save the money on purchase and just pay the yard to perform the servides.

Thanks in advance.
    Mark

Re: Newbie looking for 52-58 MY

Quote Originally Posted by Chasemmc View Post
    Gentlemen,
    I have read a great many of the knowledgeable posts and have learned quite a lot. Thank you for investing in the forum. My plans are to purchase and gradually (4 yrs) move full time on a boat. Quality of construction and seaworthyness lead me to Hatteras.

I have no prior boating experience, but hey, everyone starts somewhere.