Welcome to the Hatteras Owners Forum & Gallery. Sign Up or Login

Enter partial or full part description to search the Hatteras/Cabo parts catalog (for example: breaker or gauge)
+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Thread: Double Down

Double Down

Good evening to all. I am new to this site, so please bare with me. I have been looking at vintage 43' Double Cabins (38'-43'). I recently have found a 1977 43' Double Cabin that I really like and appears to be in very good condition. I recently did a walk through and it definitely fit the bill of the pics.

Although I have had many, many boats in my 57yrs, I am a newbie at real yachting! So first of all, I welcome any/all feedback (positive & negative) on the 1977 43' Double Cabin. And more importantly, I am being told that the 671's are 210hp each. Does this sound right to any of you?

Thanks for you assistance,

Re: Double Down

I have 6-71N's on my 1979 43DC and they are 310 HP.

hey DD you should have posted this in the hatteras tech talk section. pay attention there are 4 sections tech talk, everything else, parts for sale and boats for sale. ok guys, i'm being rough on him because i have known him for 35 years.

We have owned our 1983 43 DCFB, 671 ti's for 6 years.
    positive:
    Lilly Marie has been an ideal boat for us. Our use is primarily day trips with 4 to 14 or so people. We have 4 children and the six of us have spent several days cruising with good experience.
    You can steer from the lower helm and visit with guests or go up to the flybridge for sun or in poor visibility.
    We cruise at 8.3 kts. and about 1.5 nmpg. She will run up to about 16 kts, but any benefit from a shorter travel time is offset by 3x fuel burn.
    Shallow water is an issue for us and the boat draws less that 4 ft and has a keel which will hit a sandbar before the props do.