Welcome to the Hatteras Owners Forum & Gallery. Sign Up or Login

Enter partial or full part description to search the Hatteras/Cabo parts catalog (for example: breaker or gauge)
+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Thread: Anchor chain

Anchor chain

Can I ask for opinions on anchor chain size. The Ideal windlass fitted to my boat, 42' convertible, by Hatteras has a 1/4" wildcat on it, I can only assume Hatteras considered 1/4" size chain sufficient. I was going to fit a larger wildcat and chain but Ideal want $1000 for a new 3/8" wildcat.
    Any thoughts?

Re: Anchor chain

I think the 1/4 is around 1500 lbs working load and the 3/8 about twice that. What do you feel you need?
    Scott
    41C117 "Hattatude"
    Port Canaveral Florida.

Marine Electronics and Electrical Products Distributor.

Well, ask me a question about diving, apparently I'm a professional at that! Boats blowing around in the wind, I haven't a clue.
    I've been on internet trawler forums and anchor manufacturer sites and they seem to recommend around 3/8" for heavy 40' size boats. I believe the ABYC guidelines for a 40' boat give horizontal load of 2400lbs for a storm. 1/4" high test chain is 2600lbs WLL. Just ok but then Mantus anchor site and others then then go on to recommend 5/16" minimum and 3/8" for heavier boats....
    Just need more opinions until someone agrees 1/4" is ok!

This thread made me pull out Hintz. According to him, proof coil would be 1250 working; BBB would be 1325 and high test 2600. Some wildcats require BBB due to the smaller link size.

Went a few chapters further and he recommends a CGR or Delta of 35# and 3/8 proof coil for you size, and IMHO your higher weight to length. I have a Fortress and went to a larger FX 85, 3/4 strand and 25' of 1/2 chain for our 54 EDMY (almost 80,000 lb displacement).