Welcome to the Hatteras Owners Forum & Gallery. Sign Up or Login

Enter partial or full part description to search the Hatteras/Cabo parts catalog (for example: breaker or gauge)
+ Reply to Thread

Question about hull speed fuel usage VS fuel usage while on a plane

I am new to mid-sized power boats. I am considering a 46C. I was very surprised at the amount of fuel these diesel engines consume, particularly while on a plane (twice as much / 2gal per mile!) I have been on center consoles most of my life and generally you get better fuel economy when you get on a plane and reduce surface contact with the water... Is it just that those big engines burn so much more fuel at higher rpm's that friction doesn't even factor in? If these numbers are accurate, is there an engine for the 46C you can recommend that will provide better fuel economy?

Thanks,

Robert

Re: Question about hull speed fuel usage VS fuel usage while on a plane

46Cs were built with mostly two series of engines- 6v92s and 8v92s for the high performance version. All 2-cycle Detroits are thirsty engines- the 8v92s will burn proportionately more, with a higher cruise and top speed. Getting a big heavy boat like a Hatteras 46 on plane and keeping it there while driving it over the water requires a lot of thrust from the propellers, and that thrust is achieved by turning a lot of diesel fuel into revolutions of the props. The amount of mass to lift and keep elevated, as well as the friction with the water surface, is considerable. It's kind of amazing that it all happens as it does.

That said, four-cycle diesels are more efficient and will burn less fuel for a given level of performance. For those boats, the best engines are probably Cummins M11s and Caterpillar 3406Es or (I think) C12s or C18s- anyway the larger Caterpillar inline sixes. They will still burn a lot of fuel but they are more efficient and will push the boat to quite respectable cruise speeds.