Welcome to the Hatteras Owners Forum & Gallery. Sign Up or Login

Enter partial or full part description to search the Hatteras/Cabo parts catalog (for example: breaker or gauge)
+ Reply to Thread

Pending Survey on 48 ft. Hatt M.Y.

I am having a 1983 Hatt M.Y. with 6V92's (1800 hrs.) surveyed on friday 10/14 and an engine survey sometime next week. I would appreciate any insight into areas unique to the 48 or to the 6v92's that I should question the surveyors. Boat has cruised primarily in Chesapeake and been under cover and appears to be in excellent condition. Appreciate any help I could get. I'm not very experienced with big diesels since I've sailed for 25 years until this past June. Thx.

Re: Pending Survey on 48 ft. Hatt M.Y.

Hopefully, you'll have a Detroit Diesel mechanic to survey the engines and a boat surveyor to survey the rest of the boat. The V92's are not as easy to check as the V71's, but DD knows them best.

Some stuff you can do yourself, or ask to have done:

You should advise the owner to leave the current oil in the engines so they can pull an oil sample. An oil change right before a survey can mean they're hiding something. The oil should be black and dirty.

Also ask the owner to leave the engines stone cold for when you and the surveyor arrive. Look up Genesis' "cold engine startup test" on this website, mostly to watch how much they smoke, etc. It can give you some insight into how they have been maintained. Detroit Diesel's are great, but it can easily cost $30,000 to major overhaul a pair of them.