Welcome to the Hatteras Owners Forum & Gallery. Sign Up or Login

Enter partial or full part description to search the Hatteras/Cabo parts catalog (for example: breaker or gauge)
+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast

Interesting Nav Program

Here is a fairly new Nav program which i became aware of last week in the Active Captain newsletter.

www.polarnavy.com

obviously the big advantage is that it incorporate Active Captain data, which i find myself relying on a lot.

easy to set up, seem to work well and has a pretty good/intuitive interface.

You need to download and run both PolarView and PolarCom. I had an issue with both programs not communicating together but got a quick response from the developer indicating that both need to be version 1.5 to work together. easy fix.

while not free like OpenCPN which i've been using for over 2 years / 10K NM, it's under $50 so it won't break your budget.

it can use a variety of chart format incl. NOAA and NV Bahamas charts.

havent' used it in real conditions yet, but will in the next few days, so far looks promising
    Pascal
    Miami, FL
    1970 53 MY #325 Cummins 6CTAs
    2014 26' gaff rigged sloop
    2007 Sandbarhopper 13
    12' Westphal Cat boat

Re: Interesting Nav Program

Does the program require you to be online in order to use? If not, can you still see the Active Captain data even though you are off-line. That would be really nice.
    1987 63' CPMY - Jubilee
    Tampa, FL

All who wander are not lost.

Quote Originally Posted by pmurphy View Post
    Does the program require you to be online in order to use? If not, can you still see the Active Captain data even though you are off-line. That would be really nice.
    I figured I'll butt in and reply directly, if no one minds

PolarView is primarily an off-line navigation system. Internet connection is not required to use most of the functionality, including a complete ActiveCaptain database.