Welcome to the Hatteras Owners Forum & Gallery. Sign Up or Login

Enter partial or full part description to search the Hatteras/Cabo parts catalog (for example: breaker or gauge)
+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

another holding tank question...

Okay, so I'm new to old Hatteras' too. She's a 78 53' Classic with 8V71TI's and in great condition. My wife and I are really looking forward to our first real cruise starting in the next 2 weeks along the Florida panhandle. My problem is a holding tank that fillls way too quickly. I've read the excellent information exchanged in the the threads on the tanks and it sounds like I may have a problem with a corroded tank pipe. That's the assumption we going in on. I've got a mechanic about to start work on it in the next few days.

One question I've not yet been able to answer is about the size of the tank. It's located starboard in the generator compartment. Additionally, once we cured the problem, what experience have any of you guys had with frequency of pump out. I understand that it's about amount of use. But is there any kind of rule of thumb, say cruising with 4 adults on board over 7 days? Ditto for potable water consumption? And are yall using dishwasher and washing machine when you're out on the hook for a couple of days?

Re: another holding tank question...

I have a 1978 53MY too. It's a great boat. Re: Holding tank. You're talking about the 60 gal. starboard tank outboard of the starboard battery bank, I assume. Your boat originally had 2 holding tanks. There's a 100 gal forward tank on centerline under the floor in the forward stateroom. Some owners have converted that 100 gal. tank to a 3rd fuel tank. If you only have the one 60 gal. tank, then hopefully they converted to Vaccuflush too, because Vaccuflush only needs about 1/3 the holding tank volume of your original system.