Welcome to the Hatteras Owners Forum & Gallery. Sign Up or Login

Enter partial or full part description to search the Hatteras/Cabo parts catalog (for example: breaker or gauge)
+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast

Moving up, looking for a boat and guidance.

I am a newbie here and looking to move up. I bought a 1987 37' Marinette Marquis Aft Cabin as a starter boat. I have considerable time driving bigger boats but nothing larger than a 48' I consider my skills around the dock to be decent and don't find 48's intimidating. I am thinking that 53' if probably the limit for me on size due to cost and driving skillset.

I am looking to spend up to the low 200's. If I can go lower that would be preferable but I don't want to get into the situation where I have to spend $50k right out of the gate to get it in decent shape.

We spend our time cruising in the Tn River area between Knoxville and Pickwick. We won't have the time to do any long distance cruises for a while. I looked at a beautiful 48 last weekend but want to become more informed before I pull the trigger on anything. We cruise with two dogs and would like to have children so something with an aft cockpit is appealing. So far the non-cockpit boat we have has not really been an issue with our friends children but we have not really spent much time on the hook where we have had to shuffle dogs to shore. We prefer 3 staterooms but would consider 2 with the right amenities. It seems like most of the Yachtfishers and the like with an aft cockpit run about $100k more for something in nice condition but I have not completely confirmed that.

I would prefer to trade my boat if possible.

Are my goals reasonable? I sure could use some guidance on the whole MotorYatch and dogs situation.
    1974 Chris Craft Roamer 60'

Re: Moving up, looking for a boat and guidance.