Welcome to the Hatteras Owners Forum & Gallery. Sign Up or Login

Enter partial or full part description to search the Hatteras/Cabo parts catalog (for example: breaker or gauge)
+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast

fiberglass to metal method?

I am going to temporarily fix one of my exhaust collectors which is seeping a bit. I plan to essentially glass-in the end section of the surge tube; the joint there is where the seep is located.

So, I assume I am going to start wrapping the surge tube a few inches from the end and then continue around the end of the tube, later grinding/sanding to make the repair look better.

When I actually start wrapping the metal 8" dia metal tube, do I just use regular fg resin to attach the first layer of FG to the tube? I assume I should rough up the tube a bit with some sandpaper. Is that correct? Any other steps to be taken to ensure the FG to metal bond is secure and leakproof?

Thanks - I have NO meaningful experience with FG.
    Mike P
    San Miguel de Allende, Mexico; Kent Island MD; San Antonio TX
    1980 53MY "Brigadoon"

Re: fiberglass to metal method?

Epoxy is your only chance and RUFF it up big time and clean!!
    Use some of the bi-axial glass tape like a 3-4" should work well.
    Dan
    End Of The Line II
    1967 34C

EOTL II Rebuild Web Page

><(((º>´¯`•.¸¸.•´¯`•.¸¸><((((º>`•.¸¸.•´¯`•.¸><(( (( º>¸¸.•´¯`•.¸¸¸><(((º>

Your description of what your going to do is correct. Do sand the risers for a little bite, and to clean up the riser for a good bond. Use cloth and not mat, you will be able to pull it in closer to the riser and make the enf result nicer. Pay particular attention to the mixing ratio of resin to hardener, to much hardener makes the fiberglass brittle, it loses is strength. If the resin turns brownish as it cures you have used too much hardener.