Welcome to the Hatteras Owners Forum & Gallery. Sign Up or Login

Enter partial or full part description to search the Hatteras/Cabo parts catalog (for example: breaker or gauge)
+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 4 1 2 3 ... LastLast

Refinishing exterior teak - confused

I'm nearing the end of my refit process on Tucandu, and the last thing I need to do is refinish the teak handrails, companionway hatches and fly bridge steps. I have lots of experience refinishing mahogany, but none refinishing teak.

The PO stained all the exterior teak with a dark red stain that really doesn't look very good, IMHO. I suspect he may have done that to cover up minor damage, so I may not be able to do a completely clear coating. I like the deep honey colored look that I've seen on other resored Hatteras boats. How do I get the teak back to that color? I've read the various historical posts, and I'm getting pretty confused. There seem to be many conflicting strong opinions.

Home port is in Florida, but I will be taking it on the Great Loop for a year beginning the end of this month. I don't mind doing a little periodic maintainance to keep the teak looking good, but I don't want to have to strip and refinish every three months. Here are my specific questions:

- Do I need to bleach the teak after stripping it?
    - Do I need to stain it after stripping/bleaching to get that honey color?
    - What coating is best? Sikkens/Cetol? Traditional varnish like Schooner? 2 part epoxies/polyester? other?

Sorry for the long post, but I really want to do this right the first time.

Thanks,
    Bill Root, USCG 100 Ton Master, Near Coastal
    MV BUFFALO GAL
    1988 54' MY

2. Re: Refinishing exterior teak - confused

Likely you'll need to use paint remover or heavy sanding to get the old red stain out of the wood grain...

Do I need to bleach the teak after stripping it?