PDA

View Full Version : Replacing Isenglas with Acrylic Glass

eze2bme
11-26-2006, 09:04 PM
OK .... after much deliberation I decided to tackle this project myself. My Isenglas had begun to age and was getting a "golden haze" after about two weeks from cleaning and polishing. It would clean up clear but then begin to get the haze.

I priced new Isenglas at $2400 and new EZ2CY at any where from $6500 to $9000 with Strataglass coming in the middle.

One day while walking the treadmill at the health club (it's amazing how many things I can work out in my head while walking) I began to entertain the idea of building the enclosure panels myself ... I figured that if third world countries could sew then I could learn! I went to the boat and studied the construction of the existing enclosures and made a few drawings. (OK ... I'm an Architect and we measure and draw everything!)

Off to Wally World I went to buy a sewing machine ... a Singer ... bottom of the line ... $125! Next I called the local supplier of plexiglass (GE Polymer) and found that .093" acrylic sheets (about 3/32" thick) were UV stabalized and could bend slightly without breaking. I located marine vinyl upholstery material and outdoor UV stable tread at the fabric store (JoAnn Fabrics) and found marine grade separating zippers (YKK #10) in the appropriate lengths online (Outdoor Textiles). My Isenglas made a rounded corner at the transom corners so I decided not to try and bend the acrylic (as I didn't have an oven large enough to heat the whole sheet) instead I ordered continuous plastic hinges online (TAP Plastics) to make this transition as well as hinging the panel at the boarding gate 10" from the top. These hinges have no pins holding the halves together rather a flexible vinyl - so no chance of leaks. No one could offer the best way to attach the vinyl to the acrylic so I made a test panel using high temperature hot glue ... and it worked great!