PDA

View Full Version : Allison gear oil pressure

Bob Bradley
08-09-2004, 02:58 PM
My port gear pressure has been spiking randomly the last couple times out. It starts out just over 200psi, and slowly works its way up to 400+. If I throttle back, it drops somewhat, but still is around 375. Taking it in and out of gear a couple times will sometimes bring it back to the 200 - 225 range, but it eventually climbs back up to 400 again. The oil is clean and full, and it was changed about a season ago.

In addition, my stbd gear only runs around 125psi. Since I am new to this boat, and these gears, I don't know how concerned I should be about this. I'd appreciate any knowledgable input. Thanks.
Bob

Traveler 45C
08-09-2004, 04:51 PM
Hi,

I don’t know if you’ve got the same gears but, I’ve got Allison M20 gears and the operating oil pressure should be 110-130psi.

Greg

Orion
08-09-2004, 04:54 PM
Check out page 3 of this sight under Transmission Gage it will tell you how to adjust the pressure.
Orion

Genesis
08-09-2004, 05:00 PM
125psi is about right.

The other side has a stuck pressure relief valve in the vickers pump (the pump is on the rear of the ENGINE, not on the gear).

I don't know how much of a PITA it is to fix this - but I bet the easiest way is to remove the pump from the engine. That's not terribly difficult - a few bolts and the two hoses and it will come right off, as its gear driven.

Bob Bradley
08-09-2004, 05:34 PM
Thanks for the replies. Do you have any suggestions on how to determine the best approach to repair? I'm OK with mechanics, but have 0 experience on this application. Also, what is the damage potential from running with high pressure?

mike
08-09-2004, 07:39 PM