PDA

View Full Version : Ship it or drive it???

mkh8911
08-08-2010, 01:08 AM
I just purchased a 1968 34C. I'm new to this class of vessel. The boat is located in Michigan City, Indiana. I live in Tennessee. I'm tempted to drive the boat from Lake Michigan to Lake Barkley, Ky where it will be slipped (via the Illinois, Mississippi, Ohio, Cumberland rivers). My other option is to load it on a flatbed and haul it home. The boat is on the hard now, winterized. If anyone has any suggestions on the best method of travel I would appreciate any comments. I suppose one of the downsides to tractor-trailer travel is that I will have to remove the flybridge to get the boat under 13'6". My main concern with river travel is fuel locations and bridge clearance. Thanks!

rsmith
08-08-2010, 10:14 AM
I just purchased a 1968 34C. I'm new to this class of vessel. The boat is located in Michigan City, Indiana. I live in Tennessee. I'm tempted to drive the boat from Lake Michigan to Lake Barkley, Ky where it will be slipped (via the Illinois, Mississippi, Ohio, Cumberland rivers). My other option is to load it on a flatbed and haul it home. The boat is on the hard now, winterized. If anyone has any suggestions on the best method of travel I would appreciate any comments. I suppose one of the downsides to tractor-trailer travel is that I will have to remove the flybridge to get the boat under 13'6". My main concern with river travel is fuel locations and bridge clearance. Thanks!
drive it!!!!!!

Tim Powell
08-08-2010, 10:42 AM
drive it!!!!!!

drive it did u purchase to see it on truck//// if you are concerned about keeping it in deep water or fuel have a captain go with you but definately DRIVE TIM

Finalee
08-08-2010, 11:10 AM
If it is seaworthy and you have the time drive it.

C. Edmund
08-08-2010, 11:12 AM
drive it did u purchase to see it on truck//// if you are concerned about keeping it in deep water or fuel have a captain go with you but definately DRIVE TIM