PDA

View Full Version : Oil Change pump went TU

bobk
05-27-2010, 02:43 PM
I have a 120 volt Jabsco oil change impeller pump with garden hose ends mounted next to the fuel manifold. Oil leaked into the motor and it's smoking. Any thoughts on a replacement pump? I can't find a direct replacement, most of the small pumps are 12V.

Bob Kassal
Chateau de Mer
1981 48MY
Lying Baltimore Yacht Club

mobilemn1
05-27-2010, 03:22 PM
Bob, buy a can of electrical contact cleaner, spray can, and spray the motor down real good inside and out if you can, this may eliminate the oil residue in the motor, let it dry and retry before you startt buying the new pump. You may be surprised at the results.

MikeP
05-27-2010, 03:51 PM
If it's like mine, it's just a fairly standard elec motor. Should be easily available if you can't fix it.

If it won't turn, the standard first fix attempt is to Malletize it (hit it a couple of times with a heavy rubber or rawhide hammer). It's amazing how many elec motors will start running after malletizing. But if it works, it's still best to pull it apart and clean lube the bearings or install new ones...

I must give credit to SeaEric re "Malletizing." I knew about wailing on a non-running motor with a hammer but I was not aware it had an elegant procedural term until he told me. ;)

bobk
05-27-2010, 04:57 PM
The motor turns fine, just produces a fine oil 'smoke' when it does. I'll disassemble tomorrow and clean it and see what happens.

Bob

MikeP
05-27-2010, 05:13 PM
Roger that! I suspect it will be fine, oil leaking into it shouldn't cause any damage at all on its own.

luckydave215
05-27-2010, 05:22 PM
The correct technical term is "Percussive Maintainance" AKA the "Fonzarelli Touch"

MikeP
05-27-2010, 05:28 PM
That's a good one too. Both are far better than the term I was familiar with from my beginning mech days, "Hit it with a F@#&ing hammer."

lumina
05-27-2010, 10:31 PM
Hi All,

Ours went "TU" just recently as well.