Welcome to the Hatteras Owners Forum & Gallery. Sign Up or Login

Enter partial or full part description to search the Hatteras/Cabo parts catalog (for example: breaker or gauge)
+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 4 1 2 3 ... LastLast

Thread: Battery Cables

Battery Cables

What size are you guys using? I have diesel now and want to replace my battery cables...they're large enough but they are shot from years in the bilge. More a of a safety thing for me.

Another thing...I'm thinking I need at least 100A capacity. That would be 2/0, 2 guage or 2AWG? I know one of them is thinner but I get confused about the nomenclature because I'm not an electrician.

Thanks,

Jack

Re: Battery Cables

2 gauge or 2 awg is the same... 2/0 thought is much bigger...

the numbers go down to 0 but then go up with /0

ex 10 8 6 4 2 0 1/0 2/0 4/0

4/0 is as big as it gets, well reasonably, that's what i used for my inverter. on my 53 the main battery starter cables look like 2/0, they dont seem as big as the 4/0

why are you replacing them ? if the insulation is good, they should be fine ? my original cables look good..
    Pascal
    Miami, FL
    1970 53 MY #325 Cummins 6CTAs
    2014 26' gaff rigged sloop
    2007 Sandbarhopper 13
    12' Westphal Cat boat

The size of the wire you use on DC circuits depends on the total length of the wire run (both directions) and load. The 100 Amp estimate may be a little low. I would measure the current wire length and verify the amperage with your engine supplier. There are tables to determine required wire sizes. If you can't find one (Worst Marine catalog usually has one) post your info here and we can look it up for you.
    --- The poster formerly known as Scrod ---

I want to live in Theory, everything works there.

1970 36C375

I ran 2/0 from my 8d's to my 330b's via a switch when I repowered. Remember, starters love heavy wire as voltage drop is minimum.

Mine are also 2/0 installed durring repower to 330Bs on our 36C.

Regards, Bob K