Welcome to the Hatteras Owners Forum & Gallery. Sign Up or Login

Enter partial or full part description to search the Hatteras/Cabo parts catalog (for example: breaker or gauge)
+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Thread: Boat Security

Boat Security

Can anybody recommend a security system for a boat. I'd be interested in what some of the members are using and what works (or seems to anyway).

Thanks,
    Capt'n Bill

"People will forget what you said. People will forget what you did, But people will never forget how you made them feel."

Re: Boat Security

We have an Ademco security system with wireless magnetic sensors on all the exterior entrances and on the storage doors under the flybridge helm. It was installed by the PO and runs off the batts. It is not connected at all to ac though it can be. There are no motion sensors; I don't think you could use them on a boat anyway but I'm no alarm expert.

If triggered, a loud yelping horn activates. It works fine. It's just a household unit - not "marine" at all. But has been on the boat since at least the early 90's and with no problems. Occasionally a new battery in the various mag sensors is the only maintanance required.

Obviously there are much newer units with all sorts of features - like notifying you at home if the alarms trigger. I don't think I'd want that with a boat 3000 miles away!

3. Re: Boat Security

I know Pascal will agree with my answer... LIVEABOARDS.

We are now up to 8 full time liveaboards at my 21 slip marina... If we don't see you on the dock, the 3 "boat dogs" will.........

It's kinda neat as the 3 dogs "know" when the regulars are walking on the dock (they don't bark) as opposed to an "outsider".....

We haven't locked our boat up in the 5 years we've been at this marina (like it would be tough for someone to breakin anyway).

But I also know I need something for when we are out cruising or docked somewhere else.... Kinda like what Mike has...
    Charlie Freeman