Welcome to the Hatteras Owners Forum & Gallery. Sign Up or Login

Enter partial or full part description to search the Hatteras/Cabo parts catalog (for example: breaker or gauge)
+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Thread: Wood selection

Wood selection

What types of wood did Hatteras use inside circa 1970. Need to match the veneer ply inn my 44TC.
    I have some beautiful bookmathched paneling with ribbon like grain (1/4 cut teak or afromosia veneer) and some tight straight grain (looks like teak). Some of the book matching runs 7,1/8 in wide, some runs 3. Im pretty sure the trim around doors, corners, and ledges are teak; but I am a novice so please let me know what you know!

Re: Wood selection

Afromosia was not used until 1979-80. Most of the 70's was Mozambique Teak aka Ribbon Teak with is no longer available. Before that it was mahogany.
    Sky Cheney
    1985 53EDMY, Hull #CN759, "Rebecca"
    ELYC on White Lake--Montague, MI

I haven't been there in a while, but last time I checked Condon Lumber in White Plains NY had ribbon cut teak veneer marine plywood in 3/8", 1/2", and 3/4". That was 5 or 6 years ago though.
    Everyone should believe in something - I believe I will go fishing - Henry David Thoreau

Try Seafare Marine in Fort Lauderdale as well.
    Dave & Trina
    Benedetto
    1989 60MY HATDK310
    Sturgeon Bay/Ft. Lauderdale