Welcome to the Hatteras Owners Forum & Gallery. Sign Up or Login

Enter partial or full part description to search the Hatteras/Cabo parts catalog (for example: breaker or gauge)
+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Question on older 53 MY

I'm looking at buying a 1970 53 MY. I can't post the link because I'm new to the Forum but google 1970 Matt 53 in Minnesota for $170k.

I've looked the boat over thoroughly and it's incredible. I'm new to Hatts but have had yachts for 13 years. My question is, what should I be nervous about in owning this boat? I know about the blistering issues and oil leak/burn on Detroits but neither are an issue on this boat. The engines have 3700 hours but my friend knows the previous two owners and know that they were meticulously maintained, ran frequently, and ran very easy.
    I have an insurance survey from this year and they pretty found no issues and consider it "Above Average"
    The pride in ownership in this thing is obvious...

So...what should hold me back??

Thanks in advance!

Re: Question on older 53 MY

That 53 is absolutely beautiful. Pride of ownership is definitely a parent. As long as you get good engine surveys and you don’t have any soft spots on the deck or the flybridge. It sounds like a wonderful deal.
    SEVEN
    1979 53' MY Hull #563
    Antioch, California

hmmmm isn't asking a bunch of boat owners what should hold you back from buying a boat the very epitome of confirmation bias?

Pleaser note that I absolutely did not make any bad analogies to Philadelphia's Kensington neighborhood and advice on drug use.

That would have been in bad taste.
    Timothy Rogers
    1981 56' FDMY
    "Fun@Sea.Calm"

The only thing holding you back should be the desire to have the regret of "oh crap I didn't know how hard it is to find a good one, and someone snatched it out from under me." I looked at dozens "on line" and probably a dozen in person. That there is a rare bird. If you like it you better buy it.