Welcome to the Hatteras Owners Forum & Gallery. Sign Up or Login

Enter partial or full part description to search the Hatteras/Cabo parts catalog (for example: breaker or gauge)
+ Reply to Thread

ANL-50 32V Fuse...Are they all created equal?

We are having some charging issues and I found a Bussmann ANL-50 fuse that appears to have blown. It is the fuse that is in the Guest electrical box in the starboard engine room. It is labeled, "Battery Charger 50A"

When I check for potential across it with the battery charger set to "Low" I get 6.7V, so I am thinking that if it were not blown there should not be much, if any, potential across the two ends of the fuse. (I am no electrician and I have never worked with this type of fuse before.)

I have looked online a bit for this type of fuse and have seen prices that go from $80 something down to $2.33 each for something that looks to be the proper size and claims to be a 50amp 32V ANL fuse. (They come in a pack of 5 with free shipping!) It sounds too good to be true...but $80 is ridiculous too!)

Does anyone have any experience with purchasing non-Bussmann/Eaton fuses for use in the 32 volt systems?
    IMG_1602.jpg

Thanks,
    Nick
    1984 53' Extended Deckhouse
    "Laissez Faire"
    Delivered 1-1-86 (per Sam's)
    Hull #CN737
    Sausalito, CA

Re: ANL-50 32V Fuse...Are they all created equal?

Order it from Sams and you'll be sure to get the right fuse.

And you'll feel good that you're supporting this forum's owner.
    Sky Cheney
    1985 53EDMY, Hull #CN759, "Rebecca"
    ELYC on White Lake--Montague, MI

Sky,

I always think of ordering from Sam's first because I depend on this forum. I have purchased a number of things from them and certainly appreciate them as a source of knowledge about my boat.