Welcome to the Hatteras Owners Forum & Gallery. Sign Up or Login

Enter partial or full part description to search the Hatteras/Cabo parts catalog (for example: breaker or gauge)
+ Reply to Thread

Swaging wire rope

Any pointers? I’m going to make a lifting harness for a 13’ whaler tomorrow with a swage tool from west marine that uses two bolts to crimp. Is it pretty straightforward or is it easy to damage the rope/cable?

Re: Swaging wire rope

Make sure you have the right sized ferrules for the swagging tool. I've been making my own for several years with no issues. I need to remake four I use every year as I use them to restrain batteries for my inverter banks. They are wet cells so fumes tend to destroy the cables over time...

They are pretty easy to make. I have used rope to make a test lifting bridle. I use this test bridle to get my CG / leg lengths correct. Then I make an actual lifting bridle out of spectra. It has the same strength as the wire but is super flexible, lightweight and easy to stow. The eye splices are easy with you tube videos. Or you can use the cable and do the crimps right in the store. It is super fast and you make flawless crimps.
    Thanks,

Tony

2008 Cheoy Lee Bravo 78 "Bella Sophia"
    1989 78' Hatteras CPMY #311 "Bella Sophia" (sold)
    2007 Everglades 290cc “Bada Bing” (sold)
    2006 Advanced Outdoors 28cc (sold)
    2003 Melges 24 "Bada Bing" (sold)
    2023 HCB 42 “Bada Bing”

I ground the blades on an old set of bolt cutters to make a very effective crimping tool.
    Semper Siesta
    Robert Clarkson
    ASLAN, 1983 55C #343
    Charleston, SC

I just go to West Marine and use their tool. Comes out perfect every time.
    SEVEN
    1979 53' MY Hull #563
    Antioch, California

Quote Originally Posted by SEVEN View Post
    I just go to West Marine and use their tool. Comes out perfect every time.
    That's why i do when a need a new lifting harness.