Welcome to the Hatteras Owners Forum & Gallery. Sign Up or Login

Enter partial or full part description to search the Hatteras/Cabo parts catalog (for example: breaker or gauge)
+ Reply to Thread

New member/owner looking for guidance.

Good evening,

I am a long-time admirer of this site and its members. I have been shopping for a Hatteras Yacht for the last three years, and your forum has proven invaluable along the way in terms of research and what to look out for in a Hatt. My wife and I just recently purchased a 1978 46C with 8V71TI's, that appears to be in great shape. Right now I feel a bit overwhelmed with learning all of her systems and keeping up with maintenance. I am very hands on, and plan on doing as much of the work myself as I can.

Having said that, within the last week, my AC in the salon has stopped cooling. Also, the starboard drive shaft packing gland has a quick drip and at times, a constant trickle. As for the AC, it is a Cruisair 16k. It is also blue in color. Not sure if that's a big deal, but the white one next to it looks much newer... They are both split units. Can someone please recommend an honest local AC mechanic that services south Miami-Dade County (Homestead)?

Reference the packing box, I'm pretty sure the shaft is 2" and the packing is held in by a coupling that is tightened by two bolts. I have gotten to the end of the tightening range, and it's still dripping very quickly. Am I correct that I need 1/2" flax packing? Incidentally, I am also looking for an honest mechanic knowledgeable with DDEC, and one who can walk me through changing the packing "in-water" the first time. After reading the thread on this topic, I'd really like to have someone there who knows what they're doing.

Thank you in advance for your time. I never wanted to waste anyone's time previously by asking hypothetical questions. I am very happy now that I can continue to learn from the members of this forum, as a proud Hatteras owner.