Welcome to the Hatteras Owners Forum & Gallery. Sign Up or Login

Enter partial or full part description to search the Hatteras/Cabo parts catalog (for example: breaker or gauge)
+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Just doing my research...for now.

I've been lurking on here for a few days and thought I'd introduce myself. The Mrs and I recently decided that we want to get a yacht or trawler in six years. Why six years, you query?

1) Our home will be paid off free and clear by then.
    2) I just recently purchased a new Kubota Tractor. It too will be paid off by then.

We have had experience in owning and operating smaller boats, and for a short period I was a Merchant Marine engineer on the Great Lakes. We are both gearheads and figure that we can probably do about 75% of the maintenance and repairs ourselves. We have decided that we want to keep her berthed in Washington, NC as it is less than 2 hours from our home in Raleigh. Current plans are to eventually to the Great Loop when we retire.

I am very "old school" and have fallen in love with the lines of the late-'60s vintage 41' DCMYs. However, that wouldn't necessarily be my only choice either. There are other vessels of that vintage that I like as well (Almost bought a 1969 35' Inland Seas Steel Clipper back up in Michigan several years ago.). Only prerequisites are that she's gotta be big, she's gotta be old, and she can NOT have sparkplugs (I am allergic).

I figure six years of homework and brain-picking will help us to "get it right" when the time finally does come to pull the trigger. Willing to listen to any and all ideas, suggestions and advice.

Thanks for letting me ramble!
    Don

PS-Please spare me your "Bust Out Another Thousand"/"Hole in the water that you throw money into" wisecracks. I've already heard them all eleventeen-gazillion times.

Re: Just doing my research...for now.