Welcome to the Hatteras Owners Forum & Gallery. Sign Up or Login

Enter partial or full part description to search the Hatteras/Cabo parts catalog (for example: breaker or gauge)
+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast

1968 45' Convertible

Hello:

My first post and thanks for any feedback I get. I am seriously considering purchasing a 1968 45' Convertible. I will be purchasing it as a 'project' boat ( although my wife is not too happy about this its the only way I will ever be able to afford a boat like this. ie do the work myself.). I am not going into this eyes shut. Several years back I bought a Sea Ray and completely refit that. Mechanically it is OK but above decks it is a wreck. I am buying this boat with the belief that it will be the last boat I buy. I am still able to do most of the work myself, I am a good finish carpenter and have rebuilt a 6-71 in a past life ( I owned 2 65 commerical long line boats). This one has 8-71's I think 435hp. The owner says it is completely original so it will need rewired, the interior stripped and redone, and the worse thing of all is that the exterior has to be repainted. I expect that alone to take me 4 months of prep work and 1 month of painting to get done ( probalby 6 months). I don't underestimate the size of the this task. Any input would be greatly appreciated, anyone done this before, etc.

Thanks again.

Bob

Re: 1968 45' Convertible

There are some decent boats out there and some real dogs. A decent boat may be a good deal but if its a dog the true cost in time and money will be a huge increase to most peoples estimates.
    Scott
    41C117 "Hattatude"
    Port Canaveral Florida.

Marine Electronics and Electrical Products Distributor.