Welcome to the Hatteras Owners Forum & Gallery. Sign Up or Login

Enter partial or full part description to search the Hatteras/Cabo parts catalog (for example: breaker or gauge)
+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast

Thread: Electolosys

Electolosys

I got a call from my dockmaster stating that they had measured all of the boats in the marina and my boat was putting out 900mb of electricity. I asked how they measured this and he said they measure the output of the boat with and without the electric turned on. I need to go down there and investigate some more but hoped to get some advice as to the measurement and probable causes. A couple other factors:

1. My boat has a massive transformer hanging over the water bewteen my slip and another boat. They just did a bunch of work on the transformer. Any merit to getting them to test the boat at another location?

2. My zincs are good and have not been replaced in 1.5 years. I would think if I was an electolosys problem my zincs would be wasted.

3. I noticed a loose grounding strap below the port main engine a few weeks ago. Could this be the culprit?

4. The dockmaster said that the tester had said that Hatteras boats frequently had electrolysis problems and in fact the other problem boat in the marina is a Hatteras. Any idea what he means?

I just have a feeling our marina hired a guy with a BS device that picked out two older boats and said they had a problem but maybe I am just defending a loved member of my family here.

Thanks for your help

Bruce

Freestyle
    1976 43 DCMY
    Tampa

Re: Electolosys

Hey Bruce... start reading! There is a MYRIAD of situations to consider when reading the meter. My aluminum Roamer was being the sacrificial anode while protecting the steel dock a while back. The marina's juice was leaking; not the boat. The people to contact are Yacht Corrosion Control Consultants.