PDA

View Full Version : Batteries on 1978 53' Motor Yacht

enamorada
06-03-2013, 01:25 PM
Hello All ~

This is my first time on the forum. It looks like a great place to gather information on Hatteras. We are looking to purchase our first Hatteras. It is a 1978 53' Motoryacht. We have not been on board yet but have had some conversation with the owner. They have not used the boat in over 2 years so we suspect the batteries are dead. Anyone out there that can tell me how many batteries are on board and where they may be located? We would need to get the boat to at least run to test engines and make it to the haul out yard for survey.

Thanks!

magnawake
06-03-2013, 02:11 PM
You never know about the batteries. They prolly have a charger connected and have been trickle charging them, which is a good thing. If the boat is on the hard without electricity, then they might be dead. If I owned a boat in the water, even though I didnt run the engines, I would make double dog sure the batteries are good enough to power my bilge pumps. That will keep the boat floating. You prolly have (2) 8D size batteries for each engine. They should be pretty close to the engine and hard to miss. I bet you a 53' owner will tell you real fast where the are located. Seems like the seller needs to make sure to boat at least runs before people come a kickin the tires. If I were buying a boat, the first thing I would do is get the engines surveyed. A good mechanic can look and listen to the engines at the dock and tell you if its worth your time to haul out and go for a sea trial. I would be concerned about the engines first. But thats just me. Keep us posted.

davidwigler
06-03-2013, 02:16 PM
If original, the 53 will have two 32 volt banks of four 8 volt batteries each and they are located in the generator space under the galley.

SereneWarrior
06-03-2013, 02:17 PM