PDA

View Full Version : Opinions wanted - I am looking for a 45 Conv.

mmacauley
03-20-2011, 10:06 PM
There are two I found that I wanted owners (current or past to comment on the good, the bad and the ugly. I am looking for a liveaboard/fishing vessel that I can keep in Southern Maine may-Oct and then bring her south to MD for the winter months. I am a gas engine guy and have much to learn which is why I want comments. I lean towards the CAT engines (I use CAT generators in my data centers and they are super reliable) but is it worth a $40K difference?

yachtworld.com/boats/1984/Hatteras-Cat-Repower--Full-Tower-Convertible-S-f---Must-Sell-%21%21-2254802/Southern-New-England/NY/United-States

and

yachtworld.com/boats/1985/Hatteras-*45-Convertible*-1731077/Wilmington/NC/United-State

OBXTucker
03-20-2011, 11:25 PM
I'm not an expert on the bigger Detroits or Cats, but I'd want to know how many hours are on the DD's. I don't think it said in the ad.

There are quite a few folks here that know these engines well - so hopefully some will chime in.

Nice boats that can be had at a great price these days!
Whichever way you go, make sure you do a hull and engine survey. Don't skimp on this expense - and make sure you're there for the entire survey. You'll learn more about your new boat in 48 hours than you'll learn over the next year (with a couple of good suveyors).

Good Luck!

Oh....and head further south than Maryland in the fall!! It can get downright COLD on the Chesapeake in the winter!

jim rosenthal
03-21-2011, 07:55 AM
Yes, you need to get at least to Florida and you might even need to go further than that...;).