PDA

View Full Version : repower 50 my

thegreatnomad
08-27-2010, 09:46 PM
Can anyone give me the best repower option for a 50my?

jim rosenthal
08-27-2010, 10:48 PM
Either overhaul what's in there (which is probably 8-71Ns) or get a set of Cummins C 480 hp on their 'reman' program. One of our club members did this on his 53MY, a very similar boat, but it took a while and there were, shall we say, challenges along the way. He is very pleased with the results, though- boat cruises in the high teens and will do over 22 kts, I think.

thegreatnomad
08-27-2010, 10:55 PM
Thanks so much for the info. We tore down the port engine today and it was trashed.
I just decided it would be better to repower. I actually thought about powering down
To some smaller yanmars and adopting a trawler mindset as I have no boating background and speed wouldn't be something I miss.

OBXTucker
08-27-2010, 11:07 PM
Keep it as close to stock as possible for future resale. You're going to limit your market of buyers when it comes time to sell, if you put small engines in.

Also, there's no reason you can't do 7-10 knots on bigger engines. Just need to blow them out every so often.

Fanfare
08-28-2010, 02:23 PM
I repowered my 50MY about 15 years ago with Detroit 6V-92TA, 550 hp each, at Jack Hargrave's recommendation. They have been great, still giving about 21-22 kts. top and a 16-18 kt. cruise, all fully loaded. But the completed cost for new props, shafts, engines, transmissions and many other accessories came pretty close to $ 100,000. It is only worth it if you plan on keeping your boat for many years because you will never get your money back at resale.

Your 8-71Ns are great engines, and infinitely rebuildable. You can run hull speed forever on these. However, to get your boat to plane again you will have to strip out a lot of weight, and it may not be possible. But look carefully at your "trashed" engine. Maybe it's not so bad.