PDA

View Full Version : 220v Shore Power

lanceolson
07-06-2010, 03:33 PM
Hi - I Have A 1986 63 Cpmy. I'm At A New Marina This Year And It Has The Old 'y' Electical System Which Supplies 208v. My Boat Is Down The Line A Little Bit And I Am Only Reading 200v At Times On My Electrical Panel. Do You Think This Will Cause Problems? Thanks In Advance.

Ross Macdonald
07-06-2010, 04:14 PM
At our marina in San Diego we are all getting 208v on 50 amp. Hasn't been a problem. The only thing I did was lower the input voltage setting on the inverter to just below 208v so it wouldn't sense the voltage was low and switch over to the inverter. Not being a marine electrician, I don't know if 200volts would be a problem. Good Luck, Ross

fixin-to-cruise
07-06-2010, 06:06 PM
See if you can change the input tap connection on the input/isolation transformer. Mine had a lower voltage tap that was used when it was outside the US. Open the wiring access cover on the transformer and you might find instructions or a wiring diagram there.

REBrueckner
07-07-2010, 10:39 AM
Adjusting the power tap if you have one is the best option. Low voltage has been discussed here before and I recall it being a problem for some.....try a search such as "shore power" and see what you can find.

spcoolin
07-07-2010, 01:12 PM
Voltage below 200 volts is very hard on A/C compressors...

If you have digital Cruisair A/C controls (SMX) below 200 volts for more than 3 minutes is the threshold that will make the controls shut down the system & display LO/AC...

You can lie to the controls by going into the programming mode and setting the reading higher than what it actually is, but you are taking a big risk there too...You are defeating the protection...Hopefully the SMX controls have been calibrated to the incoming voltage to each A/C unit...But most times they are not...