PDA

View Full Version : Opinions on DD 8V71TI engines

Bill Root
03-05-2010, 08:51 AM
I'm looking at a 53 MY with recently majored DD 8V71TI's. My current boat was repowered in 2003 with factory re-manufactured CAT 3126's. They are smooth, quiet, relatively efficient and use practically no oil between changes. I have no experience with the Detroits.

I'm looking to the expertise on this forum to help me understand the practical differences in daily operation and maintenance I can expect if I were to buy a boat with the DD engines. I've done a search of past threads, but they all seem to deal only with the technical specs of the engine. I get that. Results of a web search seem to get opinions that they are reliable engines but not very pleasant in a pleasure boat. I really want to know what they are like to live with, ie noise, fuel and oil consumption, ease of maintenance, daily operation. Most of our cruising is done at 7 - 10 knots. We do not run on plane very often.

I know there must be many on this forum who have practical experience with these engines, so I'm reaching out for your help. Thanks much.

bigbill
03-05-2010, 09:53 AM
bill, they will burn, and leak oil. i was told that if you take a picture of a detriot engine, and hang the picture on the wall, that oil will run down the wall. bigbill

fissioneng
03-05-2010, 10:12 AM
Bill,

Depending on the boat they are installed on, they can be very LOUD. Some folks like that. I have several 42C's and a 46C around me and it is hard to talk if any 2 start up at the same time. MY's seem to have more muffling than the C's.

MikeP
03-05-2010, 10:20 AM
The good thing about DDs is that they are ancient technology so nothing is complicated and maint is quite straightforward; they are extremely reliable.